Cy Young Celebration – TONIGHT

Cy - Zack.jpgThis will be a special night at Kauffman Stadium as Zack Greinke is honored for his 2009 American League Cy Young Award in an on-field presentation during pre-game ceremonies. Make sure to get the ballpark early so you don’t miss the festivities which include the return of both the the Royals previous Cy Young Award winners Bret Saberhagen (1985 & 1989) and Kansas City native David Cone (1994).

Greinke, Cone and Saberhagen have all won Cy Young Awards with the Royals – and all three will be here tonight. But they are not the only Cy Young Award winners to pitch for Kansas City. These six other Cy Young pitchers took the mound for Kansas City teams in their playing careers:



Cy Young Season

Kansas City Connection

Whitey Ford

1961 – New York Yankees

1950 Kansas City Blues

Mike McCormick

1967 – San Francisco Giants

1971 Kansas City Royals

Vida Blue

1971 – Oakland A’s

1982-83 Kansas City Royals

Gaylord Perry

1972 – Cleveland Indians

1978 – San Diego Padres

1983 Kansas City Royals

Catfish Hunter

1974 – Oakland A’s

1965-67 Kansas City Athletics

Mark Davis

1989 – San Diego Padres

1990-92 Kansas City Royals


Remember Zack will be back on the mound again tomorrow night (Saturday) at 6:10, but tonight join us for our salute to his amazing 2009 season.

The first 35,000 fans tonight get this Cy Young Celebration T-Shirt presented by our hometown friends at H&R Block – plus – it’s the first Hy-Vee/Pepsi Fireworks Friday of the season. Red Sox and Royals tonight at 7:10. Get your tickets here.



CyYoungHRB_WHITE_Tshirt0021.jpg(Curt Nelson, Director – Royals Hall of Fame) 

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s